San Antonio Spurs

San Antonio Spurs – The San Antonio Spurs had their start in the ABA, playing as the Dallas Chaparrals from 1967 to 1973 (played the 1970-71 season as the Texas Chaparrals). The franchise moved to San Antonio and became the Spurs in 1973, but it would not transition to the NBA until the 1976-1977 season.

One the NBA’s most successful teams, San Antonio wasted little time finding its way in the ABA or NBA. The Chaparrals reached the Western Division Finals in their inaugural season and the franchise played in the Western Division Semifinals seven of the next eight seasons.

The club’s entry in the NBA was a success as well. The Spurs, with head coach Doug Moe manning the bench, reached the playoffs every year between 1977 and 1980. And five different head coaches guided San Antonio into postseason play six times from 1981 to 1988.

However, the Spurs emerged as a true league powerhouse in the late 1990’s. San Antonio posted 62 regular season wins and reached the Western Conference Finals in 1995 and it fought its way to the Western Conference Semifinals two of the next three years.

Two players, Tim Duncan and David Robinson, and head coach Gregg Popovich would lift the franchise to its first NBA title in 1999. The Spurs defeated the New York Knicks 4-1 in the best of seven series; Duncan, in his second season, was named NBA Finals MVP.

The duo of Popovich and Duncan went on to win four more championships, claiming the Larry O’Brien Trophy in 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014. They also appeared in the 2013 NBA Finals, losing to the Miami Heat in seven games.

San Antonio’s five NBA titles puts the franchise fourth on the all-time list behind the Celtics (17), Lakers (16) and Bulls (6).

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

San Antonio Spurs


Dallas Mavericks



Back to Top