Sacramento Kings

Sacramento Kings – The Kings franchise had its start in Rochester, New York, operating as the Royals. Birthed in 1949 as a member of the BAA, the Royals reached the playoffs in each of their first seven seasons and they won the club’s only title in 1951, beating the New York Knicks 4-3 in the NBA Finals.

The Royals outgrew the Rochester market, which prompted a move to Cincinnati, Ohio in 1957. The Royals called the Queen City home until 1972 and they made seven trips to the postseason while there.

The franchise arrived in Kansas City and Omaha, splitting home games between the two cities, in ’72; it changed its name to the Kings at the same. It kept the two city arrangement until the conclusion of the 1975 season when it finally settling on Kansas City as its official location.

The Kings remained in KC through the 1985 season, and they registered five playoff trips while there. Head coach Cotton Fitzsimmons guided the team to the Western Conference Finals in 1981 in spite of a 40-42 regular season finish.

The franchise transitioned to Sacramento in 1986 and it experienced a tremendous dry spell following it move out of Kansas City. The Kings made just one postseason appearance between 1987 and 1998, but the arrival of head coach Rick Adelman hastened a turnaround.

Sacramento qualified for the playoffs every year of Adelman’s eight-year tenure and it found its way to the conference semifinals or better five of those seasons.

Oscar Robertson, Jack Twyman, Nate ‘Tiny’ Archibald, Reggie Theus, Phil Ford, Mike Bibby, Chris Webber, Peja Stojakovic and Sam Lacey are a few notable players to play under the Royals/Kings banner.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

Sacramento Kings


Houston Rockets



Back to Top