Portland Trail Blazers

Portland Trail Blazers – The Trail Blazers joined the NBA in 1970, giving the city of Portland its lone professional sports franchise.

The Blazers never won more than 38 games in their first six seasons and, consequently, they never reached the playoffs during those early years. But they discovered something in their seventh season with legendary coach Jack Ramsey taking over on the bench.

Ramsey led the team to 49 wins and its first-ever postseason berth, securing the three seed in the Western Conference. Portland advanced past Chicago, Denver and Los Angeles to reach the NBA Finals.

Once there, the front court duo of Maurice Lucas and Bill Walton led the Trail Blazers to the title, defeating the 76ers in six games.

Portland would go on to reach the playoffs 25 times over the next 26 seasons, but it did not return to the Finals until 1990 when Rick Adelman led a squad that included Clyde Drexler, Terry Porter, Cliff Robinson, Buck Williams and Jerome Kersey.

The Blazers lost in five games to Chuck Daly’s ‘Bad Boy’ Pistons. That same group would return to the NBA Finals in 1992, but it suffered a similar fate, losing in six games to Michael Jordan’s Bulls.

Heading into the 2015-2016 season, Portland owns 31 playoff appearances, three conference titles, five division titles and one championship. The franchise has retired 12 numbers, including those of Lucas, Drexler, Walton and Porter.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 10:30 PM

Denver Nuggets


Portland Trail Blazers



Back to Top