Oklahoma City Thunder

Oklahoma City Thunder – The Thunder joined the NBA in 1967 as the Seattle Supersonics and the team remained in the Emerald City until the conclusion of the 2008 season.

As the Sonics, the franchise made its mark on the Western Conference with a number of deep postseason runs, including trips to the NBA Finals in 1978, 1979 and 1996.

Seattle secured its only championship in 1979 under the direction of head coach Lenny Wilkins. The roster also featured all-time team greats Jack Sikma, Dennis Johnson and Gus Williams.

The 1996 squad that reached the championship round was a loaded one as well with Gary Payton — the franchise’s all-time leader in games played, assists and steals — Shawn Kemp, Detlef Schrempf and Hersey Hawkins filling out the roster.

The club’s final years in Seattle were marked by a decline in performance as it reached the playoffs just one time between 2003 and 2008 while averaging just 35.8 wins per season.

The move to Oklahoma City brought with it a renaissance, though. The Thunder won 50 games during the 2009-2010 season with young stars Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook and James Harden leading the way.


Okalahoma City reached the Western Conference Finals the following year on the heels of 55 regular season wins and the franchise returned to the NBA Finals in 2012.

PREVIOUS GAMETue 12 April 2016 8:00 PM

Oklahoma City Thunder


San Antonio Spurs



Back to Top