New York Knicks

New York Knicks – One of the NBA’s flagship franchises, the New York Knicks came into existence in 1946. The club owns two NBA titles, winning the 1970 and 1973 championships, with a core that included Walt Frazier, Willis Reed, Earl Monroe and current team president Phil Jackson.

The Knicks have not reached that level of success since, but they did experience a resurgence in the 1990’s with franchise icons Patrick Ewing, Mark Jackson and John Starks leading the way.

The Ewing led Knicks grabbed division titles in 1989, 1993 and 1994 and they reached the NBA Finals in 1994 and 1999, losing to the Houston Rockets and San Antonio Spurs, respectively.

Since Ewing’s retirement in 2002, New York has spiraled downward, producing just three winning seasons and four playoff appearances while going through seven head coaches. Jackson was tabbed by team owner James Dolan to turn the franchise around in March of 2014.

As president, Jackson hired one of his former Laker players, Derek Fisher, as head coach. Their first full season together, as expected, did not produce many positive results with the club recording a franchise worst 17 wins.

Did you The Knicks got their name from a style of pants early Dutch settlers wore? They were referred to as “knickerbockers”. Author Washington Irving, who penned Rip Van Winkle and The Legend of Sleep Hollow, also used the term, writing his A History of New York under the name Diedrich Knickbocker.

PREVIOUS GAMETue 12 April 2016 7:00 PM

New York Knicks


Indiana Pacers



Back to Top