New Orleans Pelicans

New Orleans Pelicans – The New Orleans franchise had its origins in Charlotte, where it played as the Hornets from 1988 to 2002. The team moved to the Bayou following a 44 win 2001-2002 campaign.

As the New Orleans Hornets, the club found early success, under coaches Paul Silas and Tim Floyd, recording 47 and 41 win seasons in 2003 and 2004 while making the playoffs both years.

The 2004-2005 season marked a sharp decline, however, as the Hornets posted an 18-64 record. The following two seasons saw the team improve, in spite of being temporarily displaced to Oklahoma City due to Hurricane Katrina’s impact on the city of New Orleans’ infrastructure.

The Hornets returned to New Orleans full time in 2007 and with Chris Paul leading the way, the team reached the playoffs three times in four years between 2008 and 2011.

In 2013 the franchise officially became the New Orleans Pelicans as Charlotte was allowed to change its name from the Bobcats back to its original Hornets nickname.

That same season the team registered 34 wins, improving upon its 21 and 27 wins the two seasons prior as second-year pro Anthony Davis began to establish himself as one of the NBA’s best players.

In 2015 New Orleans returned to the playoffs for the first time since 2011, finishing the regular season with a 45-37 record. The Pelicans were eliminated in the first round, though, falling to eventual champion Golden State 4-0.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

New Orleans Pelicans


Minnesota Timberwolves



Back to Top