Minnesota Timberwolves

Minnesota Timberwolves – The Minnesota Timberwolves joined the NBA in 1989 along with fellow expansion franchise Orlando. The team acquired its initial roster via an expansion draft, landing the likes of Rick Mahorn and Tyrone Corbin.

Those two did little to produce any on the court success in Minnesota, though, as the team averaged just 21.8 wins per season through its first seven years.

However, the Timberwolves fortunes changed in 1995 when they drafted Kevin Garnett with the fifth overall pick. Garnett, who starred at Farragut Academy High School in Chicago, joined as roster that included Tom Gugliotta, Christian Laettner and Isaiah Rider and he helped guide Minnesota to a 40-42 record and its first-ever playoff berth.

The Timberwolves went on to reach the playoffs the next seven years, but they did not advance past the first round until the 2004 postseason.

With Garnett, Sam Cassell, Wally Szczerbiak and Latrell Sprewell leading the way, Minnesota dumped the Nuggets and Kings in the first round and conference semifinals, respectively, to reach the 2004 Western Conference Finals. Once there, the Timberwolves fell in six games to the Los Angeles Lakers.

That playoff run marked Minnesota’s last postseason appearance, though, (as of 2015) and the franchise has crested the 40-win mark just two times over the last 11 years.

Garnett, who won NBA MVP honors in 2004, moved on from Minnesota in 2007, but he resigned with the team in 2015. He is franchise leader in almost every statistical category, including points, rebounds, steals, assists and blocked shots.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

New Orleans Pelicans


Minnesota Timberwolves



Back to Top