Milwaukee Bucks

Milwaukee Bucks – The Milwaukee Bucks were one of the NBA’s more consistent franchises in the 70’s and 80’s, earning 19 postseason berths between 1970 and 1991. The Bucks also won their first and only championship just two years after their inaugural season in 1968, laying claim to the title in 1971 with a roster that included Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Oscar Robertson.

In Jabbar’s six seasons with the franchise, Milwaukee reached the conference finals three times and the NBA Finals twice.

The Bucks also enjoyed great success under Hall of Fame coach Don Nelson, in spite of his having never had the services of Jabbar and Robertson at his disposal. Nelson amassed 540 career regular season wins with Milwaukee between 1976 and 1987 and he guided the Bucks to the conference playoff semifinals or better 10 times.

Nelson moved on from Milwaukee following a 50-32 campaign in 1987 and the franchise has since gone through 10 head coaches. The most successful of those were Del Harris and George Karl, who combined for 396 wins and eight playoff appearances in 10 seasons.

The Bucks returned to the postseason for just the fourth time in nine years in 2015, parlaying a 41-41 record in a six-seed in the East Conference Playoffs. First year coach Jason Kidd saw his young squad fall in six games to the Chicago Bulls, though.

The current iteration of the Bucks could be competitive for years to come, though, with a core that includes Giannis Antetokounmpo, Michael Carter-Williams and Jabari Parker.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

Indiana Pacers


Milwaukee Bucks



Back to Top