Los Angeles Clippers

Los Angeles Clippers – The Clippers have been a well traveled franchise, starting in Buffalo as the Braves in 1970 before moving to San Diego in 1978. The team arrived in Los Angeles prior to the start of the 1984 season and it has remained their since.

All of the movement has fostered little in the way of success, though. The Buffalo Braves made three consecutive playoff appearances between 1973 and 1976, but the lost in the conference semifinals on each occasion.

The franchise would not return to the postseason until 1992 when a trio of coaches, including Larry Brown, guided the team to a 45-37 record. Los Angeles would return to the playoffs the following season, on Brown’s watch, but it suffered first round elimination just as it had the year prior.

In all, the Clippers have qualified for postseason play just 11 times (through 2015), but the club finally achieved sustained success following its 2011 campaign.

The acquisition of Chris Paul via trade and the drafting of DeAndre Jordan and Blake Griffin, along with the hiring of Doc Rivers as head coach, helped change the franchise’s fortunes.

The Clippers reached the Western Conference Semifinals in 2012, 2014 and 2015. Paul earned All-NBA Second Team honors in 2015 while Griffin and Jordan were named to the third team.

Los Angeles also registered a franchise best 57 wins during the 2013-2014 season. Prior to the 56 games it won in 2012-2013, no Clippers team had recorded more than 49 wins in a season.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 10:30 PM

Los Angeles Clippers


Phoenix Suns



Back to Top