Golden State Warriors

Golden State Warriors – The Warriors had their start in Philadelphia, playing their first three seasons in the BAA, which later merged with the National Basketball League to form the NBA.

The franchise won the championship in its inaugural season, defeating the Chicago Stags in five games with future Hall of Famer Joe Fulks leading the way.

The Warriors claimed their second title in 1956 with standout performers Paul Arizin and Neil Johnston powering the team past the Fort Wayne Pistons.

The team made its move West in 1962, landing in San Francisco following a season in which it posted 49 wins and reached the Easter Division Finals. The Warriors stayed in the City by the Bay until 1972, reaching two more Finals before its departure to nearby Oakland.

The franchise’s arrival in Oakland brought with it a name change and the team officially became known as the Golden State Warriors.

Golden State secured its third championship just three years after the move, winning the 1975 NBA Finals with a sweep of the Washington Bullets. Rick Barry, who is generally regarded as the greatest player to ever don the Warriors uniform, won MVP honors in the series.

In addition to Arizin, Johnston and Barry, the Warriors have also employed the services of all-time greats Nate Thurmond, Wilt Chamberlain, Chris Mullin, Tim Hardaway and Stephen Curry.

Curry, who was named 2015 NBA MVP, guided Golden State to its fourth title, besting the LeBron James led Cavaliers 4-2 in the 2015 NBA Finals.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 10:30 PM

Memphis Grizzlies


Golden State Warriors



Back to Top