Denver Nuggets

Denver Nuggets – The Denver Nuggets had their start in the ABA, joining the now defunct league in 1967 as the Denver Rockets. Unlike most start ups, Denver experience early success, reaching the ABA playoffs in each of its first nine seasons.

Three times during its ABA tenure, the team went to the Western Division Finals and it reached the championship round in 1976 where it lost to Julius Erving and the New York Nets.

At the conclusion of the 1973-1974 season, Denver changed its name to the Nuggets and it entered the NBA with that moniker in 1976.

Denver’s postseason run continued in its new home as it qualified for the NBA Playoffs in 1977, 1978 and 1979. And it even reached the conference finals in ’78 with Larry Brown as its head coach.

The Nuggets also made their mark in the 1980’s, opening a streak of nine consecutive playoff appearance in 1982. Hall of Famer Alex English was the driving force behind the team’s sustained success during that time period.

While many great players have worn the Nuggets uniform, including Dan Issel, Carmelo Anthony and Dikembe Mutombo, English remains the franchise’s most distinguished player. The South Carolina holds the club record for games played, field goals, offensive rebounds, assists and points.

Denver will enter the 2015-2016 NBA season still looking for its first championship. The Nuggets have never reached the NBA Finals and they have advanced to the Western Conference Finals just three times since 1978.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 10:30 PM

Denver Nuggets


Portland Trail Blazers



Back to Top