Boston Celtics

Boston Celtics – Founded in 1946, the Boston Celtics have more titles than any franchise in NBA history with 17. The Celtics, under the direction of legendary coach Red Auerbach, grabbed their first championship in 1957. Boston went on to win the Finals in 1959 as well and it successfully defended its title through 1966.

The Celtics saw their championship run end in 1967, but the Bill Russell era ended with two more trophies as they reclaimed the league’s top spot in ’68 and ’69.

The 1980’s were also kind to Boston as the Larry Bird led Celtics secured the NBA championship in 1981, 1984 and 1986. Boston also reach the Finals in 1985 and 1987, but it lost to the Los Angeles Lakers in six games on each occasion.

The Celtics last NBA title came in 2008 when Paul Pierce, Rajon Rondo and Kevin Garnett led the franchise to a 4-2 series win over the Kobe Bryant led Lakers.

In 2013, Boston parted ways with longtime coach Glenn ‘Doc’ Rivers and replaced him with highly touted college coach Brad Stevens. Stevens guided the team to a 25-57 record in his first season, but the Celtics qualified for the playoffs again in 2015, finishing their campaign with a 40-42 record.

Boston, which finished second to Toronto in last year’s Atlantic standings, has 30 division titles to its credit going back to 1957. That number is also a league best.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

Miami Heat


Boston Celtics



Back to Top