Atlanta Hawks

Atlanta Hawks – Originally the Tri-Cities Blackhawks, the Atlanta Hawks joined the NBA in 1949. The team moved to Milwaukee in 1951 and played there for four seasons before moving onto St. Louis in 1955.

The St. Louis Hawks enjoyed a tremendous amount of success, in spite of seven different coaches patrolling the bench over the course of 13 years. St. Louis reached the NBA Finals four times, winning the championship in 1958, and they appeared in the Western Division Finals 12 times.

The franchise reached its current home in Georgia following the 1967-68, officially becoming the Atlanta Hawks.

Since the team’s arrival in the Peach State, it has garnered numerous playoff appearances, 31 to be exact (as of 2015), but the postseason accomplishments it enjoyed it St. Louis have not followed.

Some tremendous players have donned the Hawks uniform over the years, but the franchise’s most notable performers include Dominique Wilkins, Bob Pettit and Glenn ‘Doc’ Rivers.

Wilkins, the club’s all-time leading scorer with 23292 points, earned All-Star honors 11 consecutive seasons (1985-86 through 1993-94). Pettit was named an All-Star in all 11 of his NBA seasons and he was the league’s first ever MVP, winning the award in 1956. The LSU product, who won the honor a second time in 1958, is the only Hawks player to be named an NBA MVP.

PREVIOUS GAMEWed 13 April 2016 8:00 PM

Atlanta Hawks


Washington Wizards



Back to Top